Integrated Health and Social Care, Level 5

Course Title: BTEC Level 5 Higher National Certificate in Healthcare Practice


    The BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Healthcare Practice (Integrated Health and Social Care) course is specifically designed for learners of all ages.

  • Duration of the course: 24 months 
  • Awarding Body: Pearson  
  • Start Date: September 2022 
  • Mode of Delivery: Online  
  • Study Type: Self-Paced
  • Total Fees: £2,872.00   Early Bird Offer (30% off):  £2,010.40 (Save £861.6)
  • Initial Deposit Amount: £300.00
  • No Hidden Fee

  • Seats Remaining: 6

*Interested in studying both Level 4 and Level 5 we currently have an early bird price offer. Offer valid until 15 August 2022.


    Initial Deposit Instalments Net Payable

    One-off Payment




    2 Instalments


    £855.20 x 2


    Monthly Instalments


    £102.62 x 20



Tuition fees can be paid by one of the following methods: Credit or Debit Card, Bank Transfer.

Money back guaranteed within 14 days from the commencement of the course, if you're not satisfied with your course experience.


The Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Healthcare Practice offers student’s three specialist pathways designed to support progression into relevant occupational areas or on to degree-level study. These pathways are linked to professional body standards (where appropriate) and can provide progression to direct employment.

The Level 5 Higher National Diploma offers the following specialist pathways for students who wish to concentrate on a particular aspect of Healthcare Practice:

  • Public Health and Health Promotion

  • Healthcare Management

  • Nursing or Healthcare Assistant Practice


As part of the qualification students are required to cover a minimum of 100 hours in a work placement.

In order to be accepted onto the course you must have one or more of the following:

  • GCSE grades A* to C and/or 9 to 4 (or equivalent) in subjects such as English and Mathematics

  • *BKSB assessments available at a small fee.

  • A BTEC Level 3 qualification in Health and Social Care (or related subject)

  • Other related Level 3 qualifications

  • Related work experience


The qualification is delivered via blended learning, through a range of different methods such as in person classes, live online classes and interactive webinars, which are supported with expert learning resources and an e-portfolio. Each student is assigned a personal assessor from our highly experienced faculty. Along with dedicated tutors, assessors and IQAs, our classes also give students the opportunity to discuss their studies with other learners whilst receiving advice, guidance, and support from an experienced health care professional.


This level 5 qualification is comprised of the following 5 mandatory units. Learners will also have to choose 2 optional units:

Unit Code Unit No. Unit Title
T/616/1636 Unit 1 Law, Policy and Ethical Practice in Health and Social Care
A/616/1637 Unit 2 Demonstrating Professional Principles and Values in Health and Social Care Practice
F/616/1638 Unit 3 Supporting the Individual Journey through Integrated Health and Social Care
J/616/1639 Unit 4 Fundamentals of Evidence-based Practice (Pearson-set Project)
M/616/1652 Unit 17 Effective Reporting and Record-Keeping in Health and Social Care Services


Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals in Healthcare Practice are assessed using a combination of internally assessed centre-devised internal assignments (which are set and marked by centres) and internally assessed Pearson-set assignments (which are set by Pearson and marked by centres). Pearson-set assignments are mandatory and target particular industry-specific skills.


The Level 5 Higher National Diploma allows students to further specialise by committing to specific career paths and progression routes to degree-level study.

On successful completion of the Level 5 Higher National Diploma students can develop their careers in the Healthcare sector through:

  • Entering Employment

  • Continuing Existing Employment

  • Linking with the Approporiate Professional Body

  • Committing to Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

  • Progressing to University

Here are some of the courses student can go on to study at University:

  • BSc (Hons) in Management Studies (Health and Social Care)

  • BA/BSc (Hons) in Health and Social Care

  • BA/BSc (Hons) in Health Studies

  • BSc (Hons) in Adult Nursing

  • BSc (Hons) in Public Health

  • BSc (Hons) in Health Promotion

Also upon completion of the Pearson Level 5 Higher National Diploma students can progress directly into employment. Some of the job roles they can progress into are:

  • Senior Care Assistant

  • Senior Support Worker in a Range of Health and Care Settings

  • Pathway Tracker

  • Integrated Support Worker

  • Care Navigator or Co-ordinator