Integrated Health and Social Care, Level 4

Course Title: BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Healthcare Practice


    The BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Healthcare Practice (Integrated Health and Social Care) course is specifically designed for learners of all ages.

  • Duration of the course: 12 months (1 year)

  • Awarding Body: Pearson

  • Start Date: September 2022

  • Application Deadline: Please get in touch for up to date information

  • Mode of Delivery: Online

  • Study Type: Self-Paced

  • Total Fees: £2,667.00   Early Bird Offer (30% off):  £1,866.90 (Save £800.10)
  • Initial Deposit Amount: £300.00
  • No Hidden Fee

  • Seats Remaining: 5

*Interested in studying both Level 4 and Level 5 we currently have an early bird price offer. Offer valid until 15 August 2022.


    Initial Deposit Instalments Net Payable

    One-off Payment




    2 Instalments


    £783.45 x 2


    Monthly Instalments


    £172.36 x 10



Tuition fees can be paid by one of the following methods: Credit or Debit Card, Bank Transfer.

Money back guaranteed within 14 days from the commencement of the course, if you're not satisfied with your course experience.


The Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Healthcare Practice offers students a broad introduction to the subject area via a mandatory core of learning, while allowing for the acquisition of skills and experience through specialist pathways and the selection of optional units across a range of occupationally-relevant subjects at level 4. This effectively builds underpinning core and specialist skills while preparing the student for further subject specialisation at level 5.

Students will gain a wide range of sector knowledge tied to practice skills gained in evidence-based practice, personal research, self-study, directed study and workplace learning and experience.


As part of the qualification students are required to cover a minimum of 75 hours in a work placement.

In order to be accepted onto the course you must have one or more of the following:

  • GCSE grades A* to C and/or 9 to 4 (or equivalent) in subjects such as English and Mathematics

  • *BKSB assessments available at a small fee.

  • A BTEC Level 3 qualification in Health and Social Care (or related subject)

  • Other related Level 3 qualifications

  • Related work experience


The qualification is delivered via blended learning, through a range of different methods such as in person classes, live online classes and interactive webinars, which are supported with expert learning resources and an e-portfolio. Each student is assigned a personal assessor from our highly experienced faculty. Along with dedicated tutors, assessors and IQAs, our classes also give students the opportunity to discuss their studies with other learners whilst receiving advice, guidance, and support from an experienced health care professional.


This level 4 qualification is comprised of the following 5 mandatory units. Learners will also have to choose 2 optional units:

Unit Code Unit No. Unit Title


Unit 1

Law, Policy and Ethical Practice in Health and Social Care


Unit 2

Demonstrating Professional Principles and Values in Health and Social Care Practice


Unit 3

Supporting the Individual Journey through Integrated Health and Social Care


Unit 4

Fundamentals of Evidence-based Practice (Pearson-set Project)


Unit 17

Effective Reporting and Record-Keeping in Health and Social Care Services


Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals in Healthcare Practice are assessed using a combination of internally assessed centre-devised internal assignments (which are set and marked by centres) and internally assessed Pearson-set assignments (which are set by Pearson and marked by centres). Pearson-set assignments are mandatory and target particular industry-specific skills.


The Level 4 Higher National Certificate provides a solid grounding in Healthcare practice, which students can build on should they decide to continue their studies beyond the certificate stage.

Also upon completion of the Pearson Level 4 Higher National Certificate students can progress directly into employment.

Some of the job roles they can progress into are:

  • Senior Care Assistant

  • Senior Support Worker in a Range of Health and Care Settings

  • Pathway Tracker

  • Integrated Support Worker

  • Care Navigator or Co-ordinator